More Progress

I’ve started seeing a therapist at the trans* clinic in DC and I will have a letter supporting my decision to get a hysterectomy by August! My therapist, (who is a really awesome trans man) also recommended two more surgeons for me to get in touch with, one in DC and one in Maryland. Things are moving along faster than I ever expected and I’m really excited that this is going to be possible for me, but I’m also starting to really stress out over the financial aspect of it.

If my insurance covers my surgery at all, I will still be on the hook for up to 5,000 dollars before the insurance starts paying, and I just can’t afford that. I will also have to be out of work for 6 weeks. I can’t really afford that either. If they refuse to cover it at all then I’ll just be have medical debt for the rest of my life.

On an equally stressful note, my mother just found out that I’m doing this and is being totally unsupportive  because she believes that “what [I’m] doing is wrong” and that I might change my mind.

TLDR: I’m making more progress  than I ever thought possible and that’s exciting, but I’m still poor and my parents still don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

