In Pursuit of Surgery: Part 1

The publication of this post will be the official beginning of my concentrated effort to obtain either a subtotal hysterectomy (also known as a partial or supracervical hysterectomy) or an endometrial ablation and tubal ligation.

With a subtotal hysterectomy I would have my uterus removed along with my fallopian tubes, but my ovaries and cervix would be left in place. An endometrial ablation is when the lining of one’s uterus is burned away. In people with light periods there is a fairly good chance that this can completely end menstruation after only one treatment and the process can be repeated until all of the uteran lining is completely destroyed if necessary. A tubal ligation is when one’s fallopian tubes are surgically cut, blocked, or closed to prevent eggs from reaching the uterus.

Basically what I’m trying to achieve one way or another is the end of my menstrual cycle and permanent infertility. I am not sure which procedure(s) would be the best course for me at this time, and I also have several concerns/barriers to access of treatment that I have to address:

1. I live in the South, so finding a doctor nearby who is willing to do this for me may be difficult.

2. I am non-binary, so finding a trans-friendly doctor nearby who actually believes I’m “trans* enough” for surgery may be difficult.

3. My health insurance is not trans inclusive and is just generally shitty.

4. I am poor, I cannot afford to pay out of pocket for these procedures or take a lot of time off of work to recover.

5. I have a low body weight. I don’t weigh much and I never have and I am concerned that this might make me unable to undergo surgery (you can’t eat for 24 hours or so before a hysterectomy), especially combined with my history of post-anesthesia nausea.

I mention all this now because these are the major things I am going to address in my posts relating to my quest for surgery. I want there to be a clear record of what my concerns and challenges were when I started and how I overcame them for anyone who might be in a similar position with similar concerns, because there’s not a whole lot of documentation on this stuff.

2 thoughts on “In Pursuit of Surgery: Part 1

  1. I had a partial hysterectomy- what you referred to as sub-total. The benefit is that it doesn’t radically affect your hormones (get your ovaries out if you don’t want estrogen) and you have better orgasms than if you have the cervix removed. It worked for me, but I was lucky because my insurance paid for it. Not having periods is amazing, but you will still have hormonal cycles with mood swings, at least I did.

    Reply
  2. Yeah, I’ve been absolutely dead set on keeping my cervix since the beginning.

    Did the doctor/surgeon know you were seeking this surgery as a gender related thing, or how did you go about getting someone to do this for you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

