Gender 102

I feel like we primarily talk about our genders in baby-talk. That is, simplified, reductive terminology designed to be understood by cis people who may have never even heard the word “transgender” before, much less “non-binary” or “genderqueer”.

I feel like we’re doing ourselves a disservice. When we only ever talk about ourselves and our genders in flat, two-dimensional ways, when we only ever speak gender 101, even amongst ourselves, I feel like we lose or never develop the ability to describe/experience our genders in more complex ways.

I would say that 90% of what I see on the Internet when I’m reading stuff tagged as, or pulled up by, the search terms “trans/transgender/genderqueer/non-binary” is introductory information. That was part of the reason I created this blog over a year ago. I got on the Internet to find accounts of personal experiences written by non-binary trans* people, but all I could find were websites devoted in their entirety to Gender 101. I was like, “I already know all this stuff already, I  knew it long before I started obsessively trawling the Internet for non-binary trans* stuff. Is this seriously all the Internet has to offer me?”. It seemed like there were very few resources by us exclusively for us. As in, those of us who already knew we were non-binary trans* people and wanted to explore that a little bit further than, “Hi, my name is __________ and I’m Genderqueer that means I’m neither male nor female! my preferred pronouns are ____, ____, and ____.” Like, I’m sorry, my gender has put me through a lot of trouble and I’d like to go a little bit further than picking out a nifty label, new pronouns and a cool new name and calling it a day.

I’m not saying theres anything wrong with gender 101  or that its not important I’m just saying that theres no reason the conversation should end there (or that we should be catering to cis people as our target audience). What I’m trying to say is that I think there should be an equal number of introductory, 101 style education resources and resources that are pushing us to examine, explore and articulate our genders further amongst ourselves.

One thought on “Gender 102

  1. Yes! This has frustrated me a great deal as well. I feel as if there are terms and ideas to better encapsulate the many-splendored thing that is a person’s unique gender that either don’t exist yet or are not part of the public queer consciousness yet. I feel like art is a good place to start. This is a great post & I’m glad I found your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

