A Binder in Review

So I ordered a binder from this site a few weeks ago and it arrived a little bit ago while I was out of town. Anyway, I guess I wanted to talk a little bit about it because I’ve been pretty satisfied with it (and because I seem to be chronically unable to finish any of the other posts that are wasting away in my drafts folder).

Its official name is “2nd Generation Jersey Mesh Short Binder”. Its not a binder that you have to pull over like a lot of other ones, this one has velcro on the side under one arm so that you can get it on and off easily and so that you can adjust the tightness. So far the only other method of binding I’ve experimented with is a 6 in ace bandage, which is very effective, but also not very comfortable and, according to the internet, can be hazardous to one’s health. The binder, I’m happy to report makes me at least as flat chested as the ace bandage method (if not flatter) but doesn’t stifle my breathing in any way and is, overall, much more comfortable. The only thing I regret is accidentally ordering it in black instead of white because it shows through lighter or thinner clothing a little bit, but this is easily remedied by wearing an undershirt over it. In general, I’m very happy with it and it makes my chest quite flat (though my success may be due in some regard to the fact that I’m a fairly small person with a fairly small chest to begin with). The only thing I really have to worry about is making sure that the straps don’t show.

So, in short, I’d give it 5 stars for comfort ( its not too hot and its easy to breathe in), 3 and 1/2 stars for ease of concealment (its probably less noticeable if you buy it in white) and 4 stars for flatness of chest.

Leave a Reply

